Common side of euro coins

Updated: 11.05.2011

The side of the coins showing the nominal value is the same for all member countries but the other side of the coin is national and different in each country. Despite different backside, all the coins are legal means of payment within the whole eurozone, including Estonian coins.

2- and 1-euro coins and 50-, 20- and 10-cent depict the European Union before the expansion on 1 May 2004. As from 1 January 2007, the issued coins depict the geographical map of Europe. In Italy (incl San Marino and Vatikan City State), Austria and Portugal the coins issued in 2008 or later have a later design. Europe on the world map in relation to Africa and Asia is depicted on 5-, 2- and 1-cents.

1 euro cent            20 euro cents
2 euro cents 50 euro cents
5 euro cents 1 euro
10 euro cents 2 euros