The Estonian euro coin

Updated: 01.07.2011

A competition was announced on June 2004 for the design of the national side of the Estonian euro coin. 134 designs were submitted by the deadline of 19 October. A panel of experts selected 10 best designs, which then participated in one-week telephone voting, open to all Estonians. A total of 45,453 votes were given. The results of the telephone voting were approved by the same panel, convened by Eesti Pank, which had made the decision on the ten designs in the national round in early November.

The winner of the design competition of the national side of the Estonian euro coin was the artist Lembit Lõhmus with his entry Hara 2. The work of Lõhmus received 12,482 votes in the telephone voting. The winning design features the outline of Estonia and the word “Eesti”.


1 euro cent 20 euro cents
 2 euro cents  50 euro cents
 5 euro cents                  1 euro
 10 euro cents  2 euros


The first euro notes were procured through the European System of Central Banks. The costs of printing the euro notes and minting the coins are borne by Eesti Pank.

The design of the national sides of euro coins may not be altered, except in monarchies after every 15 years or when monarchs change. An exception is made for commemorative coins, since they are limited-edition coins with special designs released into circulation in case of important national events. Every country may issue such commemorative coins once a year.

Besides national commemorative coins, there are also coins issued within the framework of joint projects in the euro area to commemorate important events of the European Union. Collector coins also have special appearances with no restrictions on their design.


Did you know that...?

  • The symbol of the euro is € and the abbreviation is EUR.
  • Euro cents have no separate signs.
  • The € sign is placed after the price.


Common side of euro coins

The design of the nominal value is shared by all Member States while the other side of the coins bears a national design and differs from country to country. Despite different back sides, all coins, including the Estonian coins, are legal tender all over the euro area.

€2 and €1, 50, 20 and 10 cent show either the European Union before its enlargement on 1 May 2004 or, as of 1 January 2007, a geographical image of Europe. Coins from Italy (including San Marino and the Vatican City), Austria and Portugal show the more recent design only if they are dated “2008” or later. 5, 2 and 1 cent coins depict Europe on a world map in relation to Africa and Asia.